El Monstruo de los Volcanes (1962)

While at Monster Bash, I picked up this flick. No sub-titles and I can’t speak a lick or understand the lingo. I know cerveza -that’s about it. But I love Mexican fantasy films. They are usually imaginative and those films that present a monster are usually on par with the far out Japanese creations or Kaiju. This film is wacked out and features a ridiculous furry telepathic cave-dweller. He’s advertised as a monster of the volcano, but stashes hot Mexican chicks in a karst cavern. Ahhhh. You won’t get bored with a flick like this.

The volcano monster reminds me a bit of Ro-Man (Robot Monster) with long, drawout and pretentious dialogues. He speaks introspectively like one of Corman’s crab monsters… Foolish humans… You have to love sentient monsters.

↓What a costume! Yup, that’s a tear in the monster suit! This movie is so bold as to show the climax under full sun in all it’s shaggy ineptitude. The “yeti” looks like a cross between a fat wampa snow beast and the “Stay Puft” Marshmallow Man. Mexican fantasy film historian and author Bobb Cotter said he looked like a shaggy version of the Michelin Tire Man mascot. He’s a sight to behold. His face is ambiguous. I can’t discern any features -where are the eyes, nose and mouth?

This film spawned a sequel using the same suit. I had both films in my hand and opted for the first one. I’ll get the companion film this October at the Bash.

Overall, “The Volcano Monster” is slow and the camera work is static. I can’t comment on the dialogue because I have no idea what the cast was saying -including the snow man. The monster was uninspired and the shooting location was boring, although some of the cave shots were fairly interesting. But overall, it kept me entertained and I got the drift of the movie. Sure, check it out! They don’t make ’em like they used to.

R.M. “Bobb” Cotter, 2005. The Mexican Masked Wrestler and Monster Filmography, McFarland. 210 pg.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Pel%C3%ADcula

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0056247/

One Response to “El Monstruo de los Volcanes (1962)”

  1. When I saw this, the first thing I thought of was “La Nave de los Monstruos” or “Ship of Monsters” 1959. Juan Ortiz has a copy of this with Spanish subtitles, but I have only ever seen it in Spanish. No idea what it means, but somehow I think subtitles wouldn’t add a lot of meaning to this film.

Leave a Reply

